Pink Weddings – My Favorite!!

In case you didn’t notice, pink is my favorite colour!  And when a bride comes to me and says “My colour is pink”, I say “Yea!!!”  I like hot pink, soft pink, pink and orange, pink and black, pink and grey….I like any kind of pink!!  So, over the course of the last couple of weeks, I have had 2 pink weddings!  Yes, I am in my glory – I can’t say it enough!  Not only were there 2 pink weddings, one of those weddings had some fabulous chair skirts that I had only gotten to use once before in a photo shoot.

The first wedding was a small, intimate affair – a late morning ceremony and lunch.  It was held at Hockley Valley Resort, on the stone patio under the lovely white tent.  It was a cool spring day, but the sun was shining and the tent offered some warmth to the guests.  The bride came to me just a couple of months before the wedding, but from the first meeting, we really clicked – I felt like I was having coffee with one of my friends and helping her plan her wedding.  Marie-Pierre had a lovely outlook on the wedding, and it was a pleasure to work with her.   Once she mentioned liking the special chair skirts, I immediately loved her!

The Beautiful Bride and her Bouquet

The Beautiful Bride and her Bouquet

Fabulous Upright Bouquet

Fabulous Upright Bouquet

Marie-Pierre’s colours were pink, white and green – a very fresh palette for a spring wedding.  Her flowers included cymbidium orchids, mini calla lilies, roses, peonies, stargazer lilies, viburnum, tulips, and more.  And while these are the more pricey flowers, she was able to keep to her budget because she had an intimate gathering in the daytime – this is a great way to have all the beautiful elements you want and still keep things reasonable.

I offer a special service for my brides ceremony – a colour-customized aisle runner. It is usually white with the main wedding colour.  This time, because the aisle was going to be shorter, I was able to add in the secondary colour as well.

Colour-Customized Aisle Runner

Colour-Customized Aisle Runner

Now, for my favorite part – the chair covers!!  Marie-Pierre chose a bright fuscia satin table runners, to put over the white linen provided by Hockley Valley, for the guest tables, and for the chairs we decided to alternate 2 styles.  The first style was the fuscia satin band tied around the pretty white, resin garden chairs.  The second style was full, hot pink cover with the specialty skirt added on.  LOVE IT!

Alternating styes of chair covers - satin bands and full cover with skirt

Alternating styes of chair covers – satin bands and full cover with skirt

The bombineres were little seedlings of herbs – again, very fresh and springy.  These were wrapped in colourful paper.   The centrepieces were a beautiful mass of fresh spring flowers similar to the bouquet.   Along with those bright elements, we added on some pink acrylic gem stones to add a bit of subtle sparkle to the table.

Vibrant, spring flowers

Vibrant, spring flowers

Table setting with flowers and jewels

Table setting with flowers and jewels

The final touch was her very pretty cake.  We provided hot pink mokara orchid blossoms for the cake baker to decorate with, a large silver rhinestone brooch accented the hot pink satin table cloth, and voila – a gorgeous spring wedding!

Beautiful cake!

Beautiful cake!

 

Now, that was the first wedding.  Wedding number 2, was equally as pink!

Pink Backdrop and Headtable with pink lighting.

Pink Backdrop and Headtable with pink lighting.

White "Sophisticate" Chair covers with hot pink bands

White “Sophisticate” Chair covers with hot pink bands

This beautiful reception was held at the Nottawasaga Inn Resort.   We designed a white and pink backdrop with hot pink flood lighting, brought in hot pink satin, floor-length table cloths, added rhinestone buckles on both the napkins and the chair bands, and I wish I could take credit for the stunning centrepieces, but I can’t….This lucky bride won a contest that included getting flowers from Branching Out in Cannington.

 

 

~ by OPULENCE Floral Design & Event Decor on June 12, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
