My Thoughts from Last Weeks’ Wedding….

This post was written last week, as I pulled off to the side of a back road, parked on a Canadian Shield rock ledge, overlooking a lovely little lake. I was so moved by everything, I just had to write my thoughts down right then and there! The following are those thoughts.

As I get older, and my daughter does as well, it has started to occur to me that life and work is no longer about quantity but quality.

I delivered a beautiful wedding just now, way up past French River at the Lodge at Pine Cove, just south of Sudbury. I have only corresponded with this bride through email. I have never met her. Today, I had that pleasure. She was so sweet, and was a fabulous host to her guests, and to me! The venue was a truly rustic, yet refined place, and the staff was the most accommodating I have ever encountered. All the families had gathered for the weekend together – people of all ages sharing time together, celebrating the occasion.

There was a scrumptious cheese table spread out and it was delicious! I met the talented chef, however, didn’t get a chance to get his name or even find out if he was professional or simply a gifted friend of the couple. He even made candied bacon!! I was invited to enjoy a little lunch from this buffet, and I did!

All around the main cabin, inside and out, people were enjoying the scenery, lounging in comfy chairs, chatting with old and new friends, out canoeing, fishing, walking along the beach – everything you hope for at a rustic retreat, but with all the comforts of a refined Inn.

That is when all the little inklings that danced in my brain all the way up the 3.5 hour trip really started to gel into co-herent thoughts. It’s no longer about how many weddnigs I can do, but which ones will satisfy me creatively, spiritually…. Which ones can bring the most joy to my clients, to me, to my family….

I was so moved by this trip, this venue, this bride, this day, that I just had to pull over and write this post at the side of a very rustic road leading out from the lodge. The fragrance from the sun-warmed, moss-covered stones and wild flowers is fantastic. The sky is overcast, but it couldn’t be a better day. I am so pleased for the couple who, today, will be married and hopefully enjoy a long, beautiful life together. And, I am looking forward to getting back home to my husband and baby girl, and celebrating our Saturday together.

Thank you, Christine & Nigel, as well as the staff at the Lodge, for allowing me to be a part of a truly beautiful day.

I am grateful to have this business that takes me places I never knew I would want to go, and that allows me to revel in the beauty of the flowers, and the love and happiness that is a part of what that brings.

Rustic setting for a wedding

Bride & Groom, Rustic Wedding, Ceremony Flowers

Beautiful drive!

Beautiful drive!

Summer Dahlias make a great bouquet

Summer Dahlias make a great bouquet

Tall arrangement filled with bleached branches, white and green flowers and foliages - always a favorite combo for me.

Tall arrangement filled with bleached branches, white and green flowers and foliages – always a favorite combo for me.

A casual gathering of the guest with pretty bar flowers of massed roses.

A casual gathering of the guest with pretty bar flowers of massed roses.

This was a wonderfully rustic, but refined place to hold a wedding.

This was a wonderfully rustic, but refined place to hold a wedding.

Lovely white Bridesmaids bouquets

Lovely white Bridesmaids bouquets with hydrangea, dahlias & roses.

....it's all about family...

….it’s all about family…

Kids always steal the show & melt hearts.

Kids always steal the show & melt hearts.

~ by OPULENCE Floral Design & Event Decor on July 5, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
