4 Years Ago….

I have often read that, even though this is a “business” blog, it is important to let readers know that I’m a person, not just a business.  So, I thought this would be a good time to test that theory!

While I have created so many beautiful weddings and memories for others, the creation I am proudest of, and believe is the most beautiful in the world, came 4 years ago this week.  My husband and I had our daughter, Ava. 

As much as flowers, and everything wedding, strikes me as such beautiful displays, nothing can beat the beauty I see in Ava.  She is the outcome I am most proud of, and humbled by.  Her capacity to love, see things in a new light, and delight in such small things makes my heart sing.

People often ask if we only have the one.  I always answer that she was a long time coming, and that we have been so blessed with her, that we are grateful with just one.

Sometimes, I say first that I can only take one, as she’s such a handful.  She really has a mind of her own, very determined, independent.  Boy, does she push her boundaries!   But I’m simply joking – I wouldn’t give her up for anything!

This business is tough – long hours, hard work, weekends away from home, it sometimes makes me wonder if I made the right choice.  There are a lot of sacrifices and things that I have, and will, miss from Ava’s life.  But I love what I do almost as much as I love her, and I feel grateful that I am able to have both. 

Happy Birthday Ava!

~ by OPULENCE Floral Design & Event Decor on July 21, 2011.

 
